Long time no review! I’m really sorry for neglecting the blog for the last two months, however reading has been on the back burner in my haste to revise for my exams, which are under two weeks away!

Here’s a little review on Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur, a poetry book that’s been blowing up all over the internet recently. A friend of mine has been preaching to me about the beat poets and guys like Rimbaud, but I thought some more modern contemporary stuff would be a good place to start reading poetry instead.

I gave this book 3 stars on Goodreads and I hope you like the review! They’re aren’t any spoilers (I guess I’d have to quote to spoil it), this is just a reflection on my feelings.

Discussion

A few years back I indulged in ‘Love is a dog from hell’ by Bukowski and thoroughly enjoyed his honest and vulgarious poems. Bukowski was a thrilling man to read from. I liked his witty use of language and vivid imagery as it brought a whole new wave of life to a medium I had otherwise deemed as drab and overly frivolous. The only other poetry I’d read before had been for school and it involved ripping words apart until my brain would bleed. I’m sad to say but that’s something I still endure now.

Milk and Honey, nonetheless, is the first poetry collection I’ve ever sat down to read for myself and for the most part, I did enjoy it.

I can see why this poetry book has resonated with so many people – the language is simple and swift, the content often melancholy but understandable. However, subjectively, as a young women whose never fallen in love before, nor been in a romantic relationship, I felt excluded and indifferent to a lot of what the collection focused on, especially throughout ‘the breaking’ chapter. The authors writing style felt straightforward and underwhelming, leaving me frequently disconnected with the emotional intent of many of the poem’s. Kaur’s language was so direct that I felt more like a bystander, but It has also taught me to appreciate how intimate poetry truly is. I’m striving to be honest but also kind in this review because I’ve realised how personal poetry is to each individual, especially the poet themselves. They are literally bearing their souls to the world. So objectively, if there’s anything I can take from reading Milk and Honey, its that poetry is fucking brave.

Though I definitely had my issues, during the last chapter ‘the healing’ I really appreciated the focus on femininity and self love. Whilst I wasn’t consistently captivated, Rupi Kaur’s voice is soft and un-embellished throughout each poem. It genuinely felt as if i was sitting in the corner of a coffee shop, intently listening to an old friend reveal her deepest qualms and revelations. For the comfort and reality Kaur explored, I am very grateful.

If your looking for a read that is slightly sombre but sincere, give this little collection a chance, especially if your going through a break up. No sarcasm here. I’m being serious. When that time comes for myself, this is probably where you’ll find me.

